IOW AGM and Awards Ceremony

The IOW Car Club AGM and awards ceremony took place at Quay Arts Centre on Friday 1st April, a healthy attendance of over 50 members, once again showing the current strength of the club.

The trophies had been sorted, polished and positioned ready for receiving, this in itself not a small undertaking. Steve Stotesbury works very hard to ensure he gets them all back from last year, organises all of the engraving and gets any new ones needed made to order. There were some extremely nice new examples on show and for this we must thank Steve for all of his hard work.

With no new members voted on and nobody stepping down the committee are to remain the same, the work they do for the club is very much appreciated by all. Year on year the club is growing and in part this has to be down to the way the club is run so a big thank you to all of the committee members.

With food devoured and the AGM part done it was time to present the trophies, presenting them as always was club president Terry Weaver. The full awards are as follows:-

Sealed surface overall winner – Dave Goodwin

Unsealed surface overall winner – Dan Morgan

Combined Champion- Dan Morgan

Runner up- Neil Glasbey

3rd Place Overall- Martyn Cutler

Class 2 Unsealed Winner- Dean Long

Class 3 Unsealed Winner- Steve Brett

Class 4 Unsealed Winner- Dan Morgan

Class 5 Unsealed Winner- Andy Williams/Paul Wills

Class 1 Sealed Winner- Danny Grist

Class 2 Sealed Winner- Dean Long

Class 3 Sealed Winner- Dave Goodwin

Class 4 Sealed Winner- Neil Glasbey

Class 5 Sealed Winner- Dan Morgan

Event winners trophies were awarded as follows:-

Round 1 – Russell Thomson

Round 2- Dan Morgan

Round 3- Toby Allen

Round 4- Matt Trott

Round 5- Andy Williams

Round 6-Dan Morgan

Round 7-Dan Morgan

Round 8-Martyn Cutler

Round 9-Dave Goodwin

Round 10-Russell Thomson

Round 11-Richard Weaver

Round 12- Andrew  Leppard

Round 13- Neil Glasbey

The Novice male was handed to Danny Grist and the up and coming driver went to Andrew Leppard.

Marion Saunders took the novice lady and Rebecca French as the fastest of the ladies.

The marshals’ award was given to Brian Robins for his tireless effort in not only marshalling at every event but also lending a hand whenever needed; you are a true clubman Brian.

And last but by no means least is the Ray Bell clubman award, this is usually voted for by the members and awarded to the person who the club feel has given the most over the year. This year it went to Andy Williams who not only found us a new venue for this year but has provided a great many venues over the years. Andy also keeps the crowds refreshed bringing along his burger van and is just one of the many people that help make this club what it is. Well done Andy!

And that wraps it up, the end of a season.

The new season begins on 24th April at IOW college.

[slickr-flickr search=”sets” set=”72157626285507909″ id=”7700339@N08″ type=”gallery” flickr_link=”on”]


One thought on “IOW AGM and Awards Ceremony

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *